Academic Authorities

Universities and other HEIs in Greece have been undergoing systemic reform affecting the structure and governance of the University’s academic authorities. Under the current legal framework, the University is governed by:

The Rector

The Rector represents the University and is responsible for its proper functioning. He presides over the Senate and the Rector's Council and ensures the execution of the decisions of the above bodies. In his responsibilities included the supervision of teaching staff recruitment, the management of the administration staff, as well as the monitoring of the financial planning of University.

Rector George Kontakis

Professor, School of Medicine

Tel: (+30) 2810-545210



Vice Rectors

The Rector, after the approval of the Senate, assigns responsibilities to the Vice-Rectors.

The four Vice-Rectors appointed and their respective responsibilities are:

Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs, Lifelong Learning, International Relations & Outlook

Georgios Kossioris

Professor, Mathematics & Applied Mathematics

Tel: (+30) 2810-545211



Vice-Rector for Planning, Administrative Affairs and Student Welfare

Dimitris Milonakis

Professor, Economics

Tel: (+30) 28310-77423



Vice-Rector for Research & Development

Michail Pavlidis

Professor, Biology

Tel: (+30) 2810-545228



Vice-Rector for Finance & Infrastructure

Konstantinos Spanoudakis

Professor, Philology

Tel: (+30) 28310-77976

Tel: (+30) 2810-545208



The Rectors’ Council

The Rector's Council acts as a Board of Management and is primarily responsible for the preparation and introduction to the Senate of the UoC's strategic planning, financial budgets and public investment programme.

The University Senate

The University Senate is the highest collective academic authority of the University, responsible for developing the educational and research policy of the University. Its remit includes quality assurance; overseeing the management of third-party funding; developing the work on continuing and life-long learning; overseeing the recruitment and promotion procedures for faculty; the regulations governing first, second and third cycle degrees and all other educational programs of the University, as well as decisions on joint educational/study programs with other HEIs and research centres nationally and internationally. The Senate is also responsible for approving the financial accounts and ensuring that the University is functioning in compliance with state laws.

The Senate comprises the Rector, the Deputy Rectors, the Deans, the Department Presidents, Student representatives, and representatives of the teaching/lab support staff and of the administrative and technical staff.

Academic management

Academic management within the University is highly decentralized, with executive authority exercised through the Schools, Departments and Divisions, which have a high degree of autonomy in defining their respective educational and research policies.

Each School is headed by a Dean, elected by the School’s faculty members and teaching support staff. The Dean convenes and chairs the School’s decision-making bodies: the Dean’s Council and the School General Assembly. The Dean’s Council comprises the Dean, the Department Presidents, student representative(s), and elected representatives of the teaching support staff. The General Assembly includes all faculty members of the School’s Departments, student representatives, and elected representatives of the School’s teaching support staff. The Deans are responsible for the day-to-day management and administration of the School, including overseeing the School’s educational programmes and the School’s development strategy in the framework agreed by the Senate. The Deans also participates in the University’s Postgraduate Studies Committee.

Deans of the UoC Schools

SCHOOL Dean Contact
SCHOOL OF EDUCATION SPANTIDAKIS Ioannis, Professor, Preschool Education [Term: 6/2/2023 to 31/8/2025]

(+30) 28310-77617

SCHOOL OF PHILOSOPHY TSINOREMA Stavroula, Professor, Philosophy and Bioethics [Term: 1/9/2021 to 31/8/2024]

(+30) 28310-77781

SCHOOL OF SOCIAL, POLITICAL & ECONOMIC SCIENCES PANAGIS George, Professor, Psychology [Term: 1/9/2020 to 31/8/2023]

(+30) 28310-77861

SCHOOL OF SCIENCES & ENGINEERING STRATAKIS Manolis, Professor, Chemistry [Term: 1/9/2020 to 31/8/2023]

(+30) 2810-393201

SCHOOL OF MEDICINE KOCHIADAKIS George, Professor, Medicine [Term: 1/10/2020 to 31/8/2023]

(+30) 2810-394801

Presidents of the UoC Academic Departments

Under the existing structure the Departments, each of which consists of a number of Divisions, are the basic academic units of the University responsible for the degree programmes. Each Department is headed by a President who is elected biannually, and each Division is headed by a Director. The decision-making body for each Division and Department is a corresponding General Assembly, composed of the faculty and also student and staff representatives.

History & Archaeology[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] KARANASTASI Pavlina, Professor
Philology[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] PANAYOTAKIS Stelios, Associate Professor
Philosophy & Social Studies [Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] KATSAROU Eleni, Professor
Primary Education [Term: 1-9-2019 to 31-8-2021] CHATZIDAKI Aspasia, Associate Professor
Preschool Education[Term: 1-9-2019 to 31-8-2021] FOUNTOULAKIS Andreas, Associate Professor
Sociology[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] TSIOLIS Georgios, Associate Professor
Economics[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] STAMATOPOULOS Giorgos, Associate Professor
Political Science[Term: 1-9-2019 to 31-8-2021] GIOURAS Athanasios, Professor
Psychology[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] GIAKOUMAKI Stella, Associate Professor
Biology[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] GARINIS George, Professor
Materials Science & Technology[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] MITRAKI Anna, Professor
Computer Science[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2022] ARGYROS Antonis, Professor
Mathematics & Applied Mathematics[Term: 1-9-2019 to 31-8-2021] GAREFALAKIS Theo, Professor
Physics[Term: 1-9-2019 to 31-8-2021] GEORGAKILAS Alexandros, Professor
Chemistry[Term: 1-9-2018 to 31-8-2020] FROUDAKIS George, Professor
Medicine[Term: 1-9-2020 to 31-8-2021] KOCHIADAKIS Georgios, Professor
Centre of Teaching and Learning Training of the Trainers (TOTT) (79)