Department of Physics


[1-11-2017 to 31-8-2019]

Iossif Papadakis,

Professor of Observational Astrophysics


Vice Chairperson:

Theodore TOMARAS

Professor of Theoretical Physics



Tel: +30 2810 394003 

Fax: +30 2810 394301




Department of Physics University of Crete


GR-71003, Greece





The Department  admitted its first students in 1978 and is the youngest Physics Department in Greece.


Educational, research and research-training activities are organized around the Department’s five Divisions, which span the disciplines of high energy physics and cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, atomic, molecular and optical physics, and applied physics (microelectronics, photonic and electronic materials, plasma physics).


Undergraduate students are offered a broad curriculum providing solid grounding in basic physics subjects such as classical mechanics, electrodynamics, thermodynamics and quantum physics.  A wide range of elective courses subsequently give students the opportunity of more indepth knowledge in the fields covered by the Department’s Divisions. Teaching is research-led and the graduate programmes are research intensive.


Research and research-training benefits from the close collaboration between many of the Department’s research groups with the Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser (IESL-FORTH), which provides access to state-of-the-art research infrastructure and laboratories.  In addition, opportunities for research and research-training in the field of astrophysics are enhanced through the Skinakas Observatory, founded jointly by the University, the Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas (FORTH) and the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics (MPE), Germany; and in plasma and nuclear physics by the department’s own institute.





Undergraduate Guide


Bachelor (B.Sc), 4 year (8 semesters) study program.


Masters (M.Sc) 12/24 month duration:  and  Doctoral (Ph.D)


The Department also participates in the following joint programmes:



HQAA External Evaluation Report of the Department of Physics, November 2008 pdf

Last update 05/06/2019