Department of Philology


[1-9-2018 to 31-8-2020]

Alexis Kalokerinos,

Professor of General Linguistics



Tel: +30 28310 77300-1

Fax: +30 28310 77304




Department of Philology,

University of Crete,

Gallos Campus,

Rethymnon, Crete,

GR-74100, Greece




Established in 1983, the Department of Philology accepted its first undergraduate students in 1988-89. Since 1993-94 the department has also offered a postgraduate studies programme.


The Department prides itself on a flexible educational approach, designed to cultivate the values of theoretical and applied knowledge as well as scholarly research. Following a general   grounding in philology, the curriculum is geared to specialization from the second year of undergraduate studies onwards in the subject areas of one of the Department's four Divisions:  Classical Studies, Byzantine and Modern Greek Philology, Linguistics, and Theatre Studies and Musicology.


The Department has a diverse research profile. The four laboratory units attached to the Department’s Divisions make a significant contribution to this profile and to research training at all levels, as does the close links with the FORTH Institute of Mediterranean Studies. The Department is alive to international trends in scholarship, with notable contributions to areas such as the history and culture of Venetian-ruled Crete and the Minimalist program in linguistics. It has also responded successfully to the challenge of new research directions, e.g. in film studies and the reception of antiquity.


The Department has modern, well-equipped facilities located at the University’s Gallos Campus in Rethymnon.




Undergraduate Guide


Bachelor (B.A), 4 year (8 semesters) study program. Specializations in the subject areas of one of the four Divisions.


Masters (M.A) and Doctoral  (Ph.D)


Postgraduate Studies Program (PSP) in Philology.  Specializations:          

Classical Philology (Ancient Greek and Latin)

Byzantine Philology

Modern Greek Philology


History of Theatre and Cinema


  • Classical Studies.
Associated Unit: Papyrology and Epigraphy Workshop.
  •  Byzantine & Modern Greek Philology
Associated Unit:  Paleography Workshop and Microfilm Archive
  • Linguistics
Associated Unit: Linguistics Laboratory
  • Theatre Studies & Musicology
Associated Unit:  Theatre  and Musicology Studios-Laboratory




HQAA External Evaluation Report of the Department of Philology, December 2011.pdf


Last update 05/06/2019